- Free of
Lutein is an antioxidant known as a carotenoid, commonly found in leafy green vegetables such as spinach, kale, and broccoli. It also naturally occurs in the macula region of the human eye. The development of eye conditions such as macular degeneration and cataracts occur when proteins that make up the lens fibre are damaged. This protein damage is caused by oxidation and exposure to blue light, or sun exposure. The presence of antioxidants in the lens of the eye prevents oxidation and UV damage from occurring. Lutein’s protective effect on the eyes is threefold: it filters out UV light, protects the blood vessels of the macular region, and prevents the oxidation of fatty acids in the phosphoreceptor membrane.
AOR’s Lutein is wildcrafted from drought-and-heat-tolerant marigold. Wildcrafted, as the name implies, are plants that grow in the wild. They are not farmed or otherwise manipulated with extra watering or fertiliser, but must endure drought, flood, insect and animal predation, and compete with weeds. Unlike commercially or organically grown plants, wildcrafted plants are completely on their own. As is the case with humans, a certain amount of stress is beneficial. Wildcrafted plants have developed strategies to fight off insects, handle changing environmental conditions and sequester vital nutrients and enzymes to help ensure their own survival. Once harvested, they typically offer more in terms of health benefits and nutrients.
AOR’s Lutein is formulated in a carrageenan-free vegan softgel, offering optimal absorption and suitability for various dietary preferences or restrictions. As marigold is considered an invasive plant species, AOR’s Lutein is a superior option when considering environmental impact.
Medicinal Ingredients per softgel:
Lutein (from Tagetes erecta or marigold flower oleoresin)
Non-medicinal ingredients: Safflower oil and MCT oil. Vsoftgel: purified water, glycerin, tapioca starch, sunflower oil, vitamin E tocopherols
Adults: Take 1 softgel daily with a meal containing oil/fat, or as directed by a healthcare practitioner.
Caution: do not use if you are allergic to plants in the Asteraceae/Compositae/daisy family.
AOR guarantees that all ingredients have been declared on the label. Contains no wheat, gluten, nuts, peanuts, sesame seeds, sulphites, mustard, soy, dairy, eggs, fish, shellfish or any animal by-product
- Choosing a selection results in a full page refresh.